Le Logis de la Voulzie

Bed and Breakfast in Provins

Gite de France Tourisme et Handicap provins https
enfr

xceptionnal showcase of civil, religious and military architecture, protected by impressive ramparts, Provins preserves today 58 monuments classified as UNESCO world heritage. This former capital of the Counts of Champagne and fair city welcomes you for a trip to Middle Ages. Find all the informations on the official website of Provins' Tourist Office.

Caesar's Tower

Caesar's Tower

Represented on the coat of arms of the city, Caesar's Tower is still the symbol of Provins. Power of the Counts of Champagne, this dungeon built in the twelfth century, has fulfilled many functions: watch tower, prison, tower... The top floor offers a panoramic view over the city and its environs.

Saint-Quiriace's Collegiate Church

Saint-Quiriace's Collegiate Church

Erected in the twelfth century by the will of Count Henry the Liberal, the financial difficulties of the French kingdom under Philip le Bel will leave it forever uncompleted. Every evening at dusk, the Collegiate is illuminated by 1000 fires to the delight of your eyes from the Logis de la Voulzie.

Saint-Ayoul's Church

Saint-Ayoul's Church

A miraculous healing at the site leads to the discovery in 1000 of the tomb of Saint Ayoul. The front of this church became the first exchange and trade fairs of Provins. Revised numerous times since the eleventh century, his remarkable bronze portal is due to George Jeanclos, a modern sculptor.

The Underground Galleries

The Underground Galleries

The galleries where originally a "fuller's earth" quarry, material used in the textile industry of Provins. The sheet "ners" (black) of Provins was very popular in the Middle Ages. Subsequently, the cavities were used as place of refuge, warehouse, wine cellar and even a meeting place for secret societies. Many graffiti attest Companions and Freemasons.

The Franciscan Abbey

The Franciscan Abbey

Located out of the ramparts, this religious monument was built in the 13th century by the Earl Thibaud IV, on the hill face to his palace, after a vision of Sainte Catherine. It became a hospital in 1749, on the orders of Louis XV. From now on this building keeps the archives of the National Department of Heritage and Historic Monument and a college of tourism.

Saint-Jean's gate and the Ramparts

Saint-Jean's gate and the Ramparts

These magnificent works of art were built in the thirteenth century and are beiing restored. The gate, with its two almond-shaped towers, assured the defense of the old road from Paris. On the right you can find the medideval show area for “The Age of the Ramparts” and “The Legend of the Knights”.

Sainte-Croix's Church

Sainte-Croix's Church

Built in the 12th century on the site of an ancient chapel, the church here owes its name to a piece of the True Cross supposedly brought back to Provins by the son-in-law of Saint Louis, Count Thibaud V. Following a fire in 1305, the church was Renaissance-style main portal.

The

The "Place du Châtel"

This is the very heart of the upper town. In its centre stand an ancient well and the “Exchange Cross” (13th century) where there were financial transactions. Also called the “Cross of the Edicts”, it was used as a public notice board for the edicts of the Counts and later for those of the King. All around you can see the Four Gable House, the Minor Offender’s court, the Cockle-Shell House, and the remains of the Saint-Thibault church.

The Tithe Barn

The Tithe Barn

This typical Provins house with its superb vaulted cellar used to be rented to the merchants of Toulouse when they came to town for the Champagne Fairs. In the thirteenth century these fairs had the primacy throughout the West, indeed the Champagne was an important trading crossroads where traders converged from the north, south, and east. Thus, Provins' location made its fair the most important.

The Rose Garden and Provins's Rose

The Rose Garden and Provins's Rose

Dominated by the monuments of the old town, the Rose Garden of Provins tells you the story of the Rose through more than 300 varieties staged by theme in this field of 3 hectares. You will begin your visit with the old roses, amonch wich the most famous "Rosa Gallica Officinalis" brought back in Provins by Thibault IV of Champagne on his way back from crusade.

Le Logis de la Voulzie

Chambres d'Hotes à Provins

Gite de France Tourisme et Handicap provins https
enfr

crin exceptionnel de l'architecture civile, religieuse et militaire, protégée par d'impressionnants remparts, Provins conserve aujourd'hui 58 monuments classés Patrimoine Mondial de l'Humanité par l'UNESCO. Cette ancienne capitale des comtes de Champagne et ville de foires, vous accueille pour un voyage au Moyen Age. Retrouvez toutes les informations sur le site officiel de l’Office de Tourisme.

La Tour César

La Tour César

Représentée sur le blason de la ville, la Tour César est encore aujourd'hui le symbole de Provins. Puissance des comtes de Champagne, ce donjon construit au XIIe siècle, a rempli de nombreuses fonctions : tour de guet, prison, clocher... Le dernier étage offre une vue panoramique sur la ville et ses environs.

La Collégiale Saint-Quiriace

La Collégiale Saint-Quiriace

Édifiée au XIIe siècle par la volonté du Comte Henri le Libéral, les difficultés financières du royaume, sous Philippe le Bel, la laisseront à jamais inachevée. Chaque soir, à la tombée de la nuit, la Collégiale s'illumine de 1000 feux pour le plus grand plaisir de vos yeux depuis Le Logis de la Voulzie.

L'église Saint-Ayoul

L'église Saint-Ayoul

Une guérison miraculeuse sur le lieu entraîne la découverte en l'an 1000 de la sépulture de Saint-Ayoul. Le parvis de cette église devint le premier lieu d’échanges et de foires commerciales de Provins. Remaniée à maintes reprises depuis le XIe s., son remarquable portail en bronze est dû à Georges Jeanclos, sculpteur contemporain.

Les Souterrains

Les Souterrains

Les souterrains étaient à l'origine une carrière de "terre à foulon", matériau utilisé dans l'industrie drapière de Provins. Le drap "ners" de Provins était très prisé au Moyen Age. Par la suite, les cavités ont servi de lieu de refuge, d'entrepôt, de cave et même de lieu de réunion de sociétés secrètes. De nombreux graffitis attestent de Compagnons et de francs-maçons.

Le Couvent des Cordelières

Le Couvent des Cordelières

Situé hors des remparts, ce couvent a été fondé au XIIIe siècle par le comte Thibaud IV, sur la colline face à son palais, à la suite d’une vision de sainte Catherine. Il devient hôpital général de la ville en 1749, sur ordre de Louis XV. Il accueille aujourd’hui des archives de la Direction du Patrimoine et des Monuments Nationaux.

La Porte Saint-Jean et les remparts

La Porte Saint-Jean et les remparts

Ces magnifiques ouvrages d'art, en cours de restauration, ont été édifiés au XIIIe siècle. La porte, avec ses deux tours en amande, assurait la défense de l'ancienne Route de Paris. A droite, se trouve le site des spectacles historiques Au Temps des remparts et La Légende des chevaliers.

L'église Sainte-Croix

L'église Sainte-Croix

Construite au XIIe siècle sur une ancienne chapelle, cette église doit son nom actuel à un morceau de la Croix du Christ qui aurait été rapporté par Thibaud V, gendre de Saint Louis. Incendiée en 1305, elle est rebâtie en majeure partie aux XVIe et XVIIe siècle, d’où son portail central de style Renaissance.

La Place du Châtel

La Place du Châtel

C’est le coeur de la ville Haute : en son milieu, un ancien puit et la “Croix des Changes”, du XIIIe s. au pied de laquelle se faisaient les transactions de monnaies et étaient proclamés les édits comtaux, puis royaux. Tout autour, se trouvent la Maison aux 4 Pignons, la Maison des Petits Plaids (ancien lieu de justice), l’Hôtel de la Coquille, les vestiges de l’église Saint-Thibault.

La Grange aux dîmes

La Grange aux dîmes

Cette maison, typique de Provins avec sa superbe salle inférieure voûtée, était louée par des marchands toulousains qui venaient pour les Foires de Champagne. Au XIIIe siècle, ces foires avaient la primauté dans tout l’occident, car la Champagne était un carrefour commercial important où convergeaient les marchands venant du Nord, du Sud et d’orient. Celle de Provins par sa situation géographique en était la plus importante.

La Roseraie et la Rose de Provins

La Roseraie et la Rose de Provins

Surplombée par les monuments de la vieille ville, la Roseraie de Provins vous conte l’Histoire de la Rose au travers de plus de 300 variétés de rosiers mis en scène par thème dans ce jardin de 3 hectares. Vous commencerez votre visite par les roses anciennes dont la plus célèbre « Rosa Gallica Officinalis » fut rapportée à Provins par Thibault IV de Champagne de retour de croisade.